The Comfort Zone: Tales of the Hobbit.

Standard

So what is comfort?  What is a comfort zone?  I believe all of us has an archetype called the “hobbit”, based on the book “Lord of the Rings” and “The Hobbit.”  What I mean is the hobbit, Frodo Baggins, is a tiny human-like character who dwells in his comfort nook of a treehouse – he has all the comforts he needs like food, a comfortable bed and shelter, and a sense of security.  He has no real troubles and he likes this existence.  Of course, one day a series of creatures take over his shelter and eat all his food and put him on this quest to retrieve this magic ring that determines the fate of the world.  However, we all have a place in our soul that longs for that comfort and lifestyle – if I were to have it my way I’d be living that way now and not on the road to wherever and pursuing some unknown, uncertain dream.  On the other hand, within the confines of a comfortable, young professional, suburban life I just don’t find that sense of comfort despite the regularity, security, and somewhat predictability of suburban life.

I find everything is determined by the clock, the pile of chores and errands only increase, work and bills take over our lives, and getting to places on time can be tiresome -especially someone with a more spontaneous and artistic mindset.  I also find that too much repetition and routine dulls the soul but breaking the repetition is also stressful.  In the end, I’d like to be inspired, perform meaningful work, and when that is established then I’d like a warm place that  is surrounded by people I love, nature, and security.  It’s almost analogous to putting the cart in front of the horse: there is an expectation to be hardworking and efficient in a job or lifestyle in which my motivation, inspiration, and passion is not fully realized.  To me, it pains the soul, keeps me up at night, and in fact maximizes my flaws. 

The uncertainty of being on the road actually maximizes my strengths – spontaneity, mental fortitude, work ethic – while minimizing my weaknesses – organization, internal structure, disdain for timeliness or sleeping early at night.  All have been improved or strengthened in this trip.  I’ve also been able to have a vision of a new lifestyle after this temporary retreat.  This retreat has breathed new life in me and given me possibilities that I’ve never would have imagined and given me an perspective.  I read some article about ADHD that categorized people as farmers vs. hunters/explorers: craving a life of routine and repetition and stationary existence vs. a life of travel, danger, and spontaneity.  Of course, we all know which one modern society pushes forward perhaps to keep the economic, political machine running.

Also, I met an Australian traveler named Ted who’s giving me life coaching lessons for writing tips.  He’s a great guy and has been far and wide and seems to really have a knack for the art of traveling and probably life as he appears quite  happy and content and well put together. 

Okay, since this post was written about 2 weeks ago, I don’t know where to with this.

Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

